My suggestion is...

Assigning Roles During Site Manager-based User Creation

When a new account is made by a site manager, it should be possible to then be able to assign roles immediately after the creation of the account. Currently, creating a new account brings the site workspace back to the "User Profiles" page, forcing the site manager to then search for the new account, click on the "Edit" button, click on the "Edit Roles" button, and then assign roles.

Since assigning roles is the next natural and logical step in an account-creation process, it would be better to navigate to the role assignment page immediately following the creation of the account. This might also help reinforce the habit of assigning roles to new accounts.

Alternatively, if navigating to the roles assignment page is not preferable for some reason, then perhaps it might make sense to leave the user at the account profile window after ceating the new account. At this point, the "Edit Roles" button would be available. A way to accomplish this might be to add a "Save and Exit" button in addition to the "Save" and "Cancel" buttons currently available. Obviously, the "Save and Exit" button would create the new account and return the user to the "User Profiles" page, while the "Save" button would create the account and leave the user at the "Edit User" page (note this is very similar to the behavior of the "Save" button on any page with the Schoolwires Editor.

3 votes
Sign in
(thinking…)
Sign in with: Facebook Google
Signed in as (Sign out)

We’ll send you updates on this idea

AdminBlackboard CE Product Management (Admin, Blackboard) shared this idea  ·   ·  Flag idea as inappropriate…  ·  Admin →

1 comment

Sign in
(thinking…)
Sign in with: Facebook Google
Signed in as (Sign out)
Submitting...
An error occurred while saving the comment

Feedback and Knowledge Base